A Slight Critique

I just wanted to make a note on one of the articles I came across during research I’ve been thinking about recently.

In it the author discusses metal bands per capita and what country is the most metal.  I will have to look deeper at his claim that it is Luxembourg and not Finland, as I think I’ve stated before a simple comparison with population may not be adequate.

He then goes on to discuss genre trends over time and region.  Much of what is stated here makes sense, and the bar charts give a fair description, but the pie chart and stacked style bar chart give the impression the charts are for “total releases” but that would only be true of single genre releases.  Because many bands overlap with genres, these types of charts are really over “total count of tags”.  Still useful and interesting, but a touch misleading.

UPDATE: my data is not matching up to his.  Finland is still the winner from what I can tell.

Leave a comment